Official name: Republic of Cyprus
Κυπριακή Δημοκρατία  (Greek)
Kıbrıs Cumhuriyeti  (Turkish)
Gained independence: 1 October 1960 from UK
Capital: Nicosia
Total area: 9,251 Sq. km
Bound: An island country in the Eastern Mediterranean Sea
–          East: Syria, Lebanon
–          West: Greece
–          North: Turkey
–          South: Egypt
Population: 1,170,125 (estimated 2016)
Climatic condition: Subtropical, Mediterranean, semiarid
Form of government: Unitary presidential constitutional republic
Currency: Euro (EUR)
Official and other languages: Greek, Turkish
For further reading: