Official name: Republic of the Union of Myanmar
Pyidaunzu Thanmăda Myăma Nainngandaw  (Burmese)
Gained independence: 4 January 1948 from UK
Capital: Naypyidaw
Total area: 676,578 Sq. km
Bound: In Southeast Asia, on Bay of Bengal, Andaman Sea
–          East: Thailand, Laos
–          West: India, Bangladesh
–          North: China
–          South: Andaman Sea
Population: 51,486,253 (census 2014)
Climatic condition: Tropical monsoon
Form of government: Unitary parliamentary constitutional republic
Currency: Kyat (MMK)
Official and other languages: Burmese
For further reading: