Official name: Sultanate of Oman
Salṭanat ʻUmān (Arabic)
Gained independence: 9 August 1970 (formation of Sultanate)
Capital: Muscat
Total area: 309,500 Sq. km
Bound: A country on the southeastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula in Western Asia
–          East: Arabian Sea
–          West: Saudi Arabia, UAE
–          North: Gulf of Oman
–          South: Yemen
Population: 4,424,762 (estimated 2016)
Climatic condition: One of the hottest climates in the world
Form of government: Unitary parliamentary absolute monarchy
Currency: Rial (OMR)
Official and other languages: Arabic
For further reading: