Official name: Romania
România  (Romanian)
Gained independence: 9 May 1877 / 1878 from Ottoman Empire
Capital: Bucharest
Total area: 238,397 Sq. km
Bound: Located at the crossroads of Central, Eastern, and Southeastern Europe
–          East: Ukraine, Black Sea
–          West: Hungary
–          North: Ukraine, Moldova
–          South: Yugoslavia, Bulgaria
Population: 19,638,000 (estimated 2017)
Climatic condition: Climate is temperate and continental
Form of government: Unitary semi-presidential republic
Currency: Romanian Leu (RON)
Official and other languages: Romanian
For further reading: