Official name: Togolese Republic
République Togolaise (French)
Gained independence: 27 April 1960 from France
Capital: Lomé
Total area: 56,785 Sq. km
Bound: In West Africa on Atlantic Ocean
–          East: Benin
–          West: Ghana
–          North: Burkina Faso
–          South: Gulf of Guinea (Atlantic Ocean)
Population: 7,965,055 (estimated 2017)
Climatic condition: Tropical climate
Form of government: Unitary dominant-party presidential republic
Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)
Official and other languages: French
For further reading: