Official name: Republic of Uzbekistan
O’zbekiston Respublikasi  (Uzbek)
Gained independence: 31 August 1991 from USSR
Capital: Tashkent
Total area: 448,978 Sq. km
Bound: A land locked country in Central Asia
–          East: Kyrgyzstan
–          West: Turkmenistan
–          North: Kazakhstan
–          South: Afghanistan
Population: 32,979,000 (estimated 2017)
Climatic condition: Continental climate with hot summers and cool winters
Form of government: Unitary authoritarian presidential republic
Currency: Uzbekistani soʻm (UZS)
Official and other languages: Uzbek
For further reading: